Dawning Light


Apparently I did rise early enough to see the sun rise over the ocean this visit, because there are photos.  I do not remember.  They are taken from Sandy’s cottage by the ocean.

But I well remember the many mornings of newspaper (Boston Globe) delivery, when I drove down Stackyard Road in Rowley, and the sun would just be rising over the ocean.  How beautiful, the dawning light.

Image

God’s light, the sun, for us.  Undisturbed by any of humankind’s machinations.  As is God’s Light, His Word, the Word of God, His Son, Jesus Christ.  When undisturbed by my sin, or dimmed by my busyness.

Thy Word is a lamp to my feet, that I might not sin against Thee.  Psalm 119:11

Then spoke Jesus again unto them,saying, I am the light of the world; he that followeth me shall not walk in darkness, but shall have the light of life.  John 8:12

(Jesus said) Ye are the light of the world.  A city that is set on a hill cannot be hidden.   Matthew 5:14

We have also a more sure word of prophecy, unto which ye do well that  ye take heed, as unto a light that shineth in a dark place, until the day dawn, and the day star arise in your hearts;                                                          2Peter 1:19

Image

The Light of the World Is Jesus

The whole world was lost in the darkness of sin; The Light of the world is Jesus; Like sunshine at noonday His glory shone in, The Light of the world is Jesus.

No darkness have we who in Jesus abide; The Light of the world is Jesus; We walk in the Light when we follow our Guide; The Light of the world is Jesus.

Ye dwellers in darkness with sin-blinded eyes, The Light of the world is Jesus; Go, wash at His bidding, and light will arise, The Light of the world is Jesus.

No need of the sunlight in Heaven, we’re told, The Light of the world is Jesus; The Lamb is the light in the City of Gold; The Light of the world is Jesus.

Come to the Light, ’tis shining for thee! Sweetly the Light has dawned upon me; Once I was blind, but now I can see—The Light of the world is Jesus.

—-Philip P. Bliss

Image

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

