Final Destination


Image

Photo above:  My grand-mere at the beach, in Ocean Park, Maine, August 16, 1948.  (She was a year older than my current age.)

It occurs to me that I still have many photos taken before the digital age which still need scanning, which means I have no photos of where I’m going…

Keeping our eyes on the final destination is vital to planning and executing any journey, is it not?  On this trip my ‘final’ destination (where I aim to kick back and relax the most) is on the East Coast, the shores of New Hampshire and Massachusetts.

The ocean is unlike any other body of water, large or small.  It’s not about size.  It’s about the salt air (the smell) and the pull of the tide (the sound).  It’s about being part of God’s Creation, not made with human hands.  It’s about the immensity of its power which represents the Omnipotence of its Creator, God.

It’s also about family tradition, if not genetics.  Both of my parents’ families came from islands, for generations.  All of them crossed the Atlantic Ocean at one point in time, immigrated from Europe.  All of them spent their spare time at the beach, or else lived across the street from it.  It may very well be in my blood.

And many of them have/had Heaven as their final destination and are waiting to welcome me there some day.  They are in the Presence of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ.

Ironically as I am writing this, I received a call from the funeral home concerning the arrangements for my mother, who is 93.  In less than five minutes the necessary information was exchanged to arrange for her final earthly destination.  Yet she has spent a lifetime preparing for her eternal home.

I am so thankful for a godly mother who led me to the Lord Jesus at an early age!

How thankful I am to know that my sins are all paid for by the blood of Jesus on the Cross, and that my place is reserved for me in Heaven by the Grace of God when I put my trust in Jesus.  The arrangements have been made, the check has been written, my sins have been atoned, and my soul has been redeemed from eternal death!

“But now being made free from sin, and become servants to God,

ye have your fruit unto holiness, and the end everlasting life.

For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life

through Jesus christ, our Lord.”

Romans 6:22-23

Photo below:   yours truly, North Hampton, NH, 1958

Image

One thought on “Final Destination

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

