I’ve Found a Refuge


Heard this song today for the first time on Family Radio.  One line caught my attention, which I quickly jotted down to look up later:  “Every burden becomes a blessing, When I know my LORD is nigh.”

Here are the lyrics, written by Avis Christiansen.  Her bio is interesting.  The tune is by Lance Latham, aka “Doc”, founder of AWANA.  His bio is equally interesting, also available in book form.

ONLY JESUS

Avis B. Christiansen
I’ve found a refuge from life’s care in Jesus
I am hiding in His love divine
He fully understands my soul’s deep longing
And He whispers softly, “Thou art mine.
“Only Jesus! Only Jesus!
Only He can satisfy
Every burden becomes a blessing
When I know my Lord is nigh
I’ve found a precious joy in knowing Jesus
Never dreamed of in this world of woe
No clouds, however dark, can dim the radiance
Of the heavenly light He doth bestow
Only Jesus! Only Jesus!
Only He can satisfy
Every burden becomes a blessing
When I know my Lord is nighI’ve found a blessed hope divine in Jesus
‘Tis a Day Star ever shining bright
It fills my earthly way with heavenly glory
And it turns life’s darkness into light.Only Jesus! Only Jesus!
Only He can satisfy
Every burden becomes a blessing
When I know my Lord is nigh

Audio can be heard here.
God is teaching me that He does indeed satisfy when I allow Him to.  And the greatest satisfaction is in the burden.  It is all of Grace, all of God.  I must only let go and let Him work in me.
God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.
Therefore will we not fear, though the earth be removed, and though the mountains be carried into the midst of the sea;
Though the waters thereof roar and be troubled, though the mountains shake with the swelling thereof.  Selah.
Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.
The LORD of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our refuge.  Selah.
Psalm 46:1-3, 10-11

photo taken outside my door today (in the rain)
photo taken outside my door today, in the rain

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

