Peace, Perfect Peace


Heard this hymn story on the radio yesterday.  It was written as a series of questions and answers, in response to a sermon, and read to a dying Christian by the author soon after it was written.

Peace, perfect peace, in this dark world of sin?

The blood of Jesus whispers peace within.

Peace, perfect peace, by thronging duties pressed?

To do the will of Jesus:  this is rest.

Peace, perfect peace, with sorrows surging round?

On Jesus’ bosom naught but calm is found.

Peace, perfect peace, with loved ones far away?

In Jesus’ keeping we are safe, and they.

Peace, perfect peace, our future all unknown?

Jesus we know, and He is on the throne.
—-Edward H. Bickersteth

Speaks so loudly to me of the Sovereignty of my God, the fact that He has all things in His Hand, and I need not worry, just trust in Him.

I was also reminded that peace is one of the fruit of the Spirit, Galatians 5:22-23.  It is not something for me to strive to achieve.  It is something for me to allow God to do in me, after I get myself out of the way.  I cannot bear fruit of myself.  And the whole list goes together as one fruit:  love, joy, peace, long-suffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, meekness, self-control, not as one thing after another that I must master on my own, but one big fruit which God will produce in me in His way, in His time.

Not a sermon.  Just good theology 🙂

In the fourteenth chapter of John’s Gospel, verse twenty-seven Jesus says, “Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you; not as the world giveth, give I unto you.  Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.”  The following chapter, just a few verses later, is about the vine and the branches and fruit bearing.

May you know the peace of God which passes all understanding.  May you know the God of peace Who surpasses all understanding and expectation.  (Philippians 4:7, Isaiah 55:9, and Ephesians 3:20)

One thought on “Peace, Perfect Peace

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

