The Fruit of Pain


Keep being reminded that all good things are the product of pain or suffering. Maybe it’s the ‘blessing’ of the double-nickel 🙂 Whatever it is, it’s a difficult lesson.

Earlier this year I endured one of the worst times of sickness ever. The worst part was the fever which caused (or accompanied) the worst of the pain. As I called out to my Father in total helplessness, He was faithful to meet me on the back side of that unbearable pain, and soon the fever broke and the pain subsided.

Now, out of nowhere, there’s pain which does not subside and which will not allow me to get comfortable in any position. The unbearable part is that it’s worse when I’m in bed, hence I am up at this awful hour.

Trying to learn whatever it is my Father would have me learn. I admit to not learning well, not always listening when I should, talking too much, and keeping busy with things which distract me from what He has to say.

So I thought perhaps writing about it would help. Given the hour, there’s not a lot of wisdom coming to mind. But maybe it helps to simply share.

Did some cleaning out before I got here. Thought perhaps there are too many distractions on my blog (one of my other blogs). Easy to surround and attach myself to pretty things and other people’s business, not necessarily people I know. Keep reminding myself to focus on God, so easily distracted.

Not sure what the fruit of this pain is yet. Just know that there will be something come out of it. Just hang on through it. Already tried pleading for its speedy removal. Still waiting.

Fruit bearing takes time. Patience. Grace. And there is a plenteous supply of sufficient grace. “For we have this treasure in earthen vessels that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us.” 2 Cor. 4:7

UPDATE: Seventeen hours later 🙂

The pain, which felt like a possible kidney stone, has subsided, curiously enough by drinking lots and lots of water and getting some rest. Amazing how new one feels without the encumbrance of pain.

The gift of pain is an appreciation for its absence! Praising God for His healing Hand, His constant Presence, and His Almighty Love.

“For we are the circumcision, who worship God in the spirit, and rejoice in Christ Jesus, and have no confidence in the flesh.” Phil. 3:3

(The pain is not gone, just giving periods of relief from taking Ibuprofen.)

August 7, 2011 The cause of the pain turned out to be Shingles, which lasted for four weeks, followed by a sprained foot which lasted for weeks.

One thought on “The Fruit of Pain

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

