Sovereign Consistency


God’s Sovereignty continues to amaze me. The verses which came to mind earlier this morning were consistent with my reading of postwar General Robert E. Lee in Elizabeth Pryor Brown’s book,

    Reading the Man

, pages 434 and 435.

The coward looks back, the brave ahead, Lee had once told Rooney, and now he began to act earnestly on this philosophy.
…to engage in the duties of life with all their heart & mind, with a determination not to be turned aside by thoughts of the past & fears of the future…
If this man could rise above defeat, they could follow him, just as they had intuitively followed him against the deadly odds of combat. It was an act of spiritual fortitude, as audacious in its way as anything he had ever performed on the battlefield. Through it he held up courage and dignity as the only path through a frightening and unfathomable wilderness. In this moment of personal bravery, Lee transcended his own violent emotions and showed himself superior to misfortune.

In addition to verses 13 and 14 of Philippians 3, written in the earlier post, the preceding verses, verses 10 through 12, are meaningful.

That I may know HIm, and the power of His Resurrection, and the fellowship of His sufferings, being made conformable unto His death,
If by any means I might attain unto the resurrection of the dead.
Not as though I had already attained, either were already perfect; but I follow after, if that I may apprehend that for which also I am apprehended of Christ Jesus.

My paraphrase: forget the past, move forward toward the mark (bull’s-eye), which is attained through knowing God and suffering. Just as R.E.Lee could not have done what he did after the war unless he had gone through it (the war), I cannot attain the mark for the prize of God, until I go through suffering, put it behind, put under my emotions related to suffering, know God, and determine by my will to move forward (mind, will, emotions in balance).

All presupposed upon total surrender to God for strength and wisdom.
Romans 8:28 ALL THINGS WORK TOGETHER FOR GOOD TO THEM WHO LOVE GOD

One thought on “Sovereign Consistency

I love to hear from readers! Thank you so much for taking time to comment. May you have a blessed day!

